Topic: Great Results

I'm fairly conscious about what I eat (my background is chemistry so I see the body as a big 'bag' of chemicals really) and sincerely believe that you are what you eat.

When Splenda came out I was a skeptical. I don't eat refined sugar, corn syrup or aspartame so Splenda seemed like another too good to be true sweetener. I should have listened to my instinct on this one.

It started out harmless enough. Every morning I stop for a cup of coffee at a local coffee shop in my town. We are fortunate in that we have a doctor here who owns a coffee bean plantation in Hawaii and we get extremely fresh roasted beans. Usually roasted that morning. Great coffee! So one day I added a two packs of Splenda since I typically get an espresso shot added to mine.

Well before long two packs became three. This went on for nearly two years. You do not quite notice it at first but you can tell a big difference over time. After about six months I noticed that I was having trouble focusing and with (without getting too much into brain functions) frontal lobe functions. I added more EFA's (mainly omega 3's) to my diet. I also upped the magnesium daily dosage as well. I saw a little improvement but not much. It got progressively worse.

I have kept a daily journal since I was sixteen so it was fairly easy to see a steady progression of changes in mood and cognitive thinking. The most basic was the ability to solve complex problems in terms of planning and organization. Another very noticeable symptom was maintaining focus. Mood was also changed in terms of signs of depression, anxiety and irritability.

I also noticed that stool was becoming more and more dense to the point that it was taking much longer to pass through my digestive tract.