Topic: peripheral neuropathy - aspartame link?

I'm hoping somebody can help me with this.  Sorry this is so long.  I'm a writer so it's one of my weaknesses.  : )

I drink anywhere from 1-2 diet soda's a day.  I hate to admit it but I feel like an addict if I don't have my Diet Pepsi or Diet Dr. Pepper by mid-day and/or at night.  It's like liquid crack.  Same goes for my sugarless gum (Extra).  I'm probably chewing gum about 2/3 of the day, every day!  There are probably other sources of artificial sweeteners I'm getting into my body without knowing it but those two are most common.  I've increased my intake of diet soda within the past 6-12 months for whatever reason but I never drink more than 2 in a day.

So.... about 2 months ago I started to experience an electric-like shock running alongside my big toe towards my nail whenever I would rub up against the nerve.  My doctor just blew it off saying my shoe was probably aggravating it.  About a week later my other big toe started feeling the same.  Before long, my left index finger started getting the nerve shock whenever I touched it just right.  It even has one little area of numbness around the knuckle.  Fast forward to this past week, my entire body feels achy and fatigued, especially my legs!  Just walking across the parking lot the other day I felt like I had just ran 5 miles.  And now both feet and hands (wrists) get electric-like shocks if I tap them just right. 

My doctor said it appears to him it's a form of peripheral neuropathy but he doesn't know why.  He ran numerous blood tests over the past several days to rule out certain things.  My blood glucose, B12, TSH, white count, ALT, SED rate and a few autoimmune panels were just fine.  My serum folate (folic acid) was about 3 points high but other than that most of the tests are within range.  I'm still waiting for my Thiamine results to come back.