Topic: Sucralose vs Sugar

My Background:

I'm a Survivor of 2 strokes, 1 blood clot in May 2007, right hemi and 1 hemorrhagic in Sept 2008, left hemi.  Since my 1st stroke I've lost 106 lbs - 5'6 and 141 lbs today.   My BP now ranges from 95/65 - 117/77.  I am diabetic, however my A1C is 5.1 and I take no meds or insulin for it because of my permanent lifestyle changes with food intake and exercise.  I will probably be on BP meds for the rest of my life.  I have never had problems with cholesterol or blockages.  The clot was diagnosed as a result of not exercising for decades and being overweight.  My heart is in good shape, no problems having been diagnosed to date.  I exercise daily and I'm very strict with my nutrition.

I've been using 1-2 packets of Splenda nearly every day for just over 3 yrs with no detectable problems, however your site has raised an issue with which I will also discuss with my personal physician.

Dr Hull, my question:

In your opinion, would 1-2 tspns of sugar per day adversely affect my diabetes if I opt for that instead of Splenda and do you know how bad Splenda really is in that small of a daily quantity?  The only thing I use sweetener in is my daily breakfast bowl of oatmeal.

If more info is needed about my strokes/recovery please read my success story of both strokes/recovery at http://www.netmagic.net/~pat .

Thanks much!

Re: Sucralose vs Sugar

Iron Gimp - I would eliminate ALL food chemicals, including the Splenda. You have restored your health, and that deserves a great deal of respect. Maintain an optimal state of health, take all unnecessary stress off your body, and return to natural sweeteners. I suggest Stevia by NuNaturals, it is great and Stevia is used to treat diabetes in other countries outside the USA.