Topic: Can years of drinking diet lead to palpitations?

I have been drinking diet pepsi or diet caffeine free since 2005. I just went to the doctor in August of this year for a full cardiac workup due to high bp. Everything is fine, but a mild mitral valve prolapse.

All the sudden I'm having palps. My heart gets racy, up to 92 bpm. It can last awhile then go away.

I'm starting to wonder if it's the diet soda.

My other symptoms:

dry mouth
cracked lips
eyes feel dried out
chronic sinus stuffiness
dizzy
ear ringing
insomnia
intolerance to really sweet things
aching legs
black spots floating in my eyes
can't see as good sometimes
bright lights are bothersome sometimes
constantly tired, sick all over feeling
can't think straight, confusion sometimes
feel hot in my face/feel cold all over
intense sugar/carb cravings
yeast infections

I am so ashamed to say this, but I cannot wake up until I have my glass of iced down diet soda. I am in a horrible horrible, I mean horrible mood until I have that first glass, and then I'm fine. My husband actually runs to get my soda for me sometimes... I feel bad about that. Shouldn't be that way. I feel crazy sometimes sad

All of these symptoms have been developing in the past 3 years and I have just... really not done much about this. I thought it was an age thing. I'm 42 years old.

Also need to add, I have suffered generalized anxiety/panic disorder all my life. Was diagnosed at 18 years old. But these palps do not feel like anxiety. The palps start first, then anxiety follows. I don't know. hmm

Something has to change, I have an 8 year old daughter who needs to have her mother around. Sometimes I feel like I'm going to die. I can't sleep wondering if I will soon.

Thank you

Last edited by LakotaLdy (12-09-2010 9:07 am)

Re: Can years of drinking diet lead to palpitations?